Thursday, November 17, 2011

Sustainable Transportation Coalition commends Mayor Peter Fassbender

The Sustainable Transportation Coalition, of which South Fraser OnTrax is a member, sent the following letter to Mayor Peter Fassbender:

November 16, 2011
Mayor Peter Fassbender
City of Langley

RE: Support of Increased Gas Tax and Other Funding Measures for TransLink

Dear Mayor Fassbender,

The Sustainable Transportation Coalition would like to recognize your leadership and support of TransLink’s “Moving Forward” initiative. Your successful efforts to bring the Provincial Government to the table and encourage other Metro Vancouver mayors to support the plan will help ensure badly needed bus service improvements throughout the region, additional transit upgrades South of the Fraser such as rapid transit on Highway 1 between Langley and Lougheed Town Centre, and the construction of the Evergreen Line.

The Coalition fully supports you in developing a range of funding sources to allow TransLink to complete the 2040 plan and create a truly sustainable transportation system that is essential for the economy and liveability of our region.
Thank you for taking the lead on this issue.


Sustainable Transportation Coalition
Peter Ladner Former board member, TransLink Gordon Price Director, City Program, Simon Fraser University
Jack Becker President, Third Wave Cycling Group
Kevin Washbrook Director, Voters Taking Action on Climate Change
Tanya Paz Business Development Director, Modo The Car Co-op
Mark Beaty Advising Member, Modo The Car Co-op
Richard Campbell Vice President, VeloWorks Cycling Society
John Calimente Transportation Planner; Columnist for Spacing Vancouver Magazine
Margaret Mahan Executive Director, BEST Better Environmentally Sound Transportation
Wayne De Angelis Regional Director, BC & the Yukon, Architecture Canada
Brent Elliott Chair South Coast Chapter, Planning Institute of BC Matt Horne Director, B.C. Energy Solutions, Pembina Institute
Nathan Pachal Director, South Fraser OnTrax Transportation Advocacy Society
Debra Rolfe Chair, UBC Student Transportation Forum
Tim Shah Member, UBC Student Transportation Forum

No comments: