Wednesday, March 15, 2023

Learn more about past recipients of Langley City’s Freedom of the City Honour

As I posted about last week, Langley City Council unanimously conferred the Freedom of the City to Former Councillor Gayle Martin for her over three decades of service to the community. The Freedom of the City is the highest honour a municipality can grant a citizen.

Langley City has conferred the Freedom of the City to five other people over the history of our municipality.

The past recipients are as follows.

(Conferred April 15, 1957) Richmond Archie Payne Esquire (JRMC) – In 1923, Dr. Benjamin Marr and Archie Payne planted 36 Big Leaf Maple trees at intersections throughout Langley. These trees honoured local soldiers who fought in World War I and didn’t return. He was one of Langley’s early magistrates, today known as provincial court judges.

(Conferred March 24, 1975) Hunter Bertram Vogel – He was the first mayor of Langley City, serving from March 15, 1955, to May 29, 1955. He was also a member of BC Legislative Assembly serving Delta from 1963-1966 and Langley from 1966-1972.

(Conferred November 18, 1983) David Leon Nicholas – He was the mayor of Langley City from January 6, 1969, until January 8, 1973.

(Conferred April 27, 1995) Reginald Henry Easingwood – He was the mayor of Langley City from December 6, 1982, until December 6, 1988. He also served as a City Councillor. His service to the community was reflected in his membership in various service organizations as a Kinsman, Mason, Shriner, and Rotarian.

(Conferred March 10, 2008) John B. Jeffery - He served in the RCAF during World War II. His dedication to community service includes being the President of the Red Cross, the Royal Canadian Legion Legion (Branch 21,) the Junior Chamber of Commerce, and the Langley Amateur Athletic Association. He also wrote for the Langley Advance and the Vancouver Sun newspaper.

On March 5, 2001, the Royal Canadian Legion was granted the Freedom of the City. Besides honouring people, a municipality can also grant the honour to “a distinguished unit of the armed forces of Canada or another nation.”

No comments: